Invest in the Thompson-Nicola Regional District

British Columbia, Canada

The TNRD is a unique region of diverse urban and rural communities, wilderness and natural resource opportunities, and a vibrant economy.

Economic Development Contact

Ron Storie    |    Manager of Community Services
1-250-377-8673    |    

The Thompson-Nicola Regional District (TNRD) covers an area of approximately 45,279 square kilometres running from the former toll booth on the Coquihalla Highway, Highway 1 south of Lytton through to Big Bar Country west of Clinton, 70 Mile House, Clearwater, Wells Gray Park, Albreda north of Blue River on Highway 5, Chase on Highway 1, east of Westwold on Highway 97c and Douglas Lake Country. The population of the area is 128,473 (2011 Census).

The region is named indirectly for the Thompson River by way of the traditional regional names of "the Thompson Country" and "the Nicola Country". The regional district government operates over 115 services including libraries, solid waste management and recycling, emergency and development services, plus the Thompson-Nicola BC Film Commission.

In order from largest to smallest based on population, the TNRD is comprised of 11 municipalities: Kamloops, Merritt, Chase, Clearwater, Logan Lake, Barriere, Ashcroft, Cache Creek, ClintonLytton and Sun Peaks. Additionally, the region is home to a number of unincorporated municipalities and that fall within one of the region's 10 electoral areas.

The region's economy continues to thrive through key sectors such as forestry, agriculture and ranching, manufacturingtransportation and logistics, and more recently, miningtourism and motion picture production.

This region is forecast to see notable gains in forest product manufacturing, mining and tourism. Employment in agriculture and food manufacturing is predicted to remain level.

Average population growth is forecast and the resale housing market is predicted to remain fairly stable. Public sector non-residential building remains little changed, while private sector non-residential building rises.

At present, the TNRD has 25 Directors, comprised of 10 Electoral Area Directors and 15 Directors representing member municipalities. Each Electoral Area Director appoints an alternate to provide voting representation at Board and Committee meetings in their absence.

Local Investment Opportunities

Local Infrastructure Projects

  • Opening of 5 new eco-depots in 2013:
    Eco-depots are sites where residents and municipalities can bring waste and recycling, as well as materials from some of the smaller transfer stations. Built to handle larger volumes, they provide a drop-off site for a wider range of materials such as garbage, recycling, waste paint and used motor oil, wood and yard waste and metals.
  • The TNRD continues to focus on water and wastewater infrastructure throughout the region, addressing those areas that need to be modernized.

Community Economic Development Contact

Ron Storie
Manager of Community Services
Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Community Contacts


(Chair) John Ranta
Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Community Contact

Sukhbinder Gill
Chief Administrative Officer
Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Community Futures Contact

Community Futures Nicola Valley

Community Futures Sun Country

Community Futures Thompson Country